photo of Hugh Chandler

Hugh Chandler

...genuinely skilful writing — a sense of stylistic awareness and authority.

Classical Guitar Magazine

Hugh Chandler is a unique musician, combining skills as a composer and as a classical/acoustic guitarist. Chandler completed a doctorate in music composition at the University of Texas in 1989, and a master of music in guitar performance from the University of South Carolina in 1981. His compositions cover a wide spectrum of genres, including works for solo guitar, chamber music, electronic media, and full orchestra. Chandler has written background scores for several short films and videos, as well as theatrical productions. His music has been performed in ten different cities throughout the United States, Mexico, and Sweden.

He has received a number of honors both for his musical compositions and for his guitar performance. He was twice the state winner in guitar in the South Carolina Collegiate Artist competition (1979 and 1982). Judges praised his high level of musicianship and sensitivity. His composition Micropoints won the 1986 Casio Electronic Music competition at the University of Texas. His work Two Preludes for solo guitar has been favorably reviewed in two different international guitar journals.

Chandler's guitar performances have included appearances on the Symphony Square series, the Central Presbyterian noon series, and frequent appearances with the Austin Classical Guitar Society. He has performed solo concerts in Austin, Cedar Park, and Round Rock, Texas, as well as Charleston, Columbia, and Sumter, South Carolina, including appearances on local radio and television programs. His most recent solo concerts have included performances of both classical repertoire and his own compositions for guitar and other instruments. Chandler has also performed early music as continuo player and soloist with the Heralds and Minstrels Early Music Ensemble in several cities throughout Texas. He currently teaches guitar in Austin, Texas, in addition to a busy schedule of performing, composing, and arranging.

Mr. Chandler's guitar works are published by Tuscany Publications.

Back to Opal's Book

Back to Contacting SPRINGKEEPER